Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Instant Life........

As I watch my children in their everyday events, I realise they are pretty lucky......

In this day and age we are able to get EVERYTHING in an instant....

-Pizza.... hmmmm.... call.... deliver
-Wanna Chat..... find phone..... FaceTime/Call/Sms/Whatsapp (the list is endless)
-Want to read.... Download a book online/Kindle
-Want games..... Download an app
-Find me a resturant to eat at.... Google

You get the picture...... WE want it..... We can get it......AMAZING right?????

Technology is awesome don't get me wrong... I love... I'm using it right now to get my point across... but the downside to this instant life is.... I our kids are getting super lazy....and spoilt....

They are not learning how to wait for things... waiting for a letter in the post

How to appreciate the simple things in life... Playing outside/ drawing (with a pencil and paper)

Face to face conversation.... (this one is hard if you live far away from everyone)(like us)

On top of that kids just assume that once they finish High School they are going to all of a sudden land these CEO/ Manager jobs, because they havn't learn't how to work hard for something.... Maybe then companies will run smoother because the guy who is Manager has worked his way up the ranks and truly understands his business because he started at the bottom.

Back in my day (wow I sound old) ... We had to work, do chores and save for something we really wanted... that way you appreciate it... I look at my kids and they get a toy and in about a weeks time 8/10 times that toy is lost or broken.... Am I doing them a favour by getting EVERYTHING they want.... I don't think I am.... I need to instead, teach them to appreciate what they have, work hard for the things they really want.

I think at the end of the day we need to teach...............

Hard work = getting what we want in life

Working Hard = appreciating what we have because we have worked hard to get it

Laziness = gets you no where

Assume you will land a big money job straight out of High School = Dream world




Monday, February 9, 2015

Growing Up Mormon....

I had a realisation on Sunday that Growing up in the Church is such an AMAZING blessing but a curse as well....

So many people that I talked to that grew up in the Church, experience a moment in their lives where they question their Faith, and they question it because, they do not experience those AH  HA! moments OR a BIG and OBVIOUS answer to that one important prayer, that as members we all have to do.  You know the one.... The "IS the Church REALLY true" prayer.

Now due to the lack of answer.... they sit there thinking..... Well no answer = not true

WRONG!!!!!

You might think that I am preaching on my soap box... and yes I am......

BUT I have a really good reason why I am... I was that one, kneeling there getting no answer....

So naturally went less active...

To cut a LONG story Short... I came back when I was pregnant with my little boy and sat in a RS Lesson, where they were teaching about prayer... and in the lesson the teacher said, "Heveanly Father is not going to give you an answer to a question you already know"...... *FacePalm*

But as well as that.....as members that have grown up in the Church we also get a little bit too caught up in the routine, of going to church, saying prayers, paying tithing... and it becomes just that.. ROUTINE... we don't think of the why... we don't study our scriptures, we just read them (believe me there is a difference), and because of that the Holy Ghost gets REALLY soft, to a point where we can't hear Him, and then we start doing stuff we are not suppose to. Then we say we don't believe in the Gospel because we are justifying the fact that we ain't doing what is right.....

But since I have been back at Church I have realised the true reasons for why we have the Commandments, why we have Prophets today to help us.

If you have a less active family/friend .... you can't change them.... they have to change themselves just like I did... But love them... pray for them and invite them to Church and activities.... There is always Hope because there is always Repentance.

Saturday, February 7, 2015

New Beginnings!

Moving to America is all I ever wanted.  Everyone told you it is the Land of the Free and everyone is Welcome!  Well.... Now here I am....  With my husband and children.... and it is NOTHING like I thought it would be... Not the Country bu the actual moving here....

When I wanted to move here  I was in limbo with my life, single with a baby.... Living with my parents and not wanting to move to South Africa but not wanting to go back to Ireland either.... BUT then I met the ONE.... A wonderful man who not only loved me, but loved my little boy too.  He had two girls from a previous marriage and I feel in love with them as well as the man of my dreams.

We got married... Sealed for all eternity.... loving being back in the country I was born in.. ......soooooo naturally with everything falling into place, life throws you a curve ball and you end up in America.  How did that happen???

America is very strange... It's not a bad strange ... just a different strange....

They do EVERYTHING different to the rest of the world and you just can't compare it to anything you know... which is weird and you feel like your on a different plant. That and you struggle to understand people and they struggle to understand you. People look at you weird when you say " I'm from South Africa" and then you hear the famous 5 words "So why ain't you black?"  or the second famous words, "Have you seen a monkey?"  

With the move I lost part of my sanity..... My little boy was happy going to school having friends, My two year old being pampered with attention not only by me but from the maid who adored her, and Gingie (her granny), when she was there. I didn't have to do ironing or cleaning, because my maid was there, so I could study for college and do the weekly shopping, and on top that my husband and I could go on dates while the grandparents watched the kids..............

Now Little man has to wait until September for school which is driving him crazy (along with everyone else in the house), my little girl has to now share attention with not only her brother but now a new little sister.... I don't have a maid... I'm know the maid :( ......  and no dates, because there is no grandparents... I can't even get a babysitter because my 7mnth old freaks out with strangers.

I just can't wait for us to settle down properly and get into a routine, my little boy can be in school and we find this place home and not outer space.

So enough with the downer mood and on to looking to the future, to new beginnings and new places to explore. New people to get to know, and different cultures to learn. Today we went to the Circus and it was the first time we stood up for the American Anthem... It was one of many firsts!

Hello America, please be patient with me.... I will learn your ways, drive on the wrong side of the road, learn Ferenheight, and feet..... eventually!!!